Saturday, May 16, 2009

LeftRightLeftRightLeft by Coldplay

Not long ago, Coldplay announced that they would be giving a copy of a live album to everyone that bought a ticket to one of their shows this summer as an extra 'thanks' for supporting them. That sucked a bit for those of us who would really appreciate such a thing and perhaps won't go to a Coldplay concert because the tickets are outrageous.

In a very smart move, the band has offered the album, LeftRightLeftRightLeft as a download off their website, for free. It's about 40 minutes long, covering a respectable mix of songs from X&Y to the latest EP, Prospekts March, while hitting some of their fans' favorites. Ex. Coldpaly can't not include "Clocks." It's a like a rule or something. They do an especially nice job on "The Hardest Part," taking it down a few notches tempo-wise while the crowd sings a long in an non obtrusive manner. "42" loses a bit of kick but its forgivable. While it's not the same as being there, the album is not a bad alternative. Being able to hear the crowd cheer and sing, and Chris Martin interact with audience-- that kind of interactivity adds another dimension to the album.

If you haven't already, download this. It's well worth it... and it's free.

Track Listing

01. Glass of Water
02. 42
03. Clocks
04. Strawberry Swing
05. The Hardest Part/ Postcards from Far Away
06. Viva la Vida
07. Death WIll Never Conquer
08. Fix You
09. Death and All His Friends

No comments: